$5,000 Minimum Guaranteed First Place at Every Divisional Tournament

Yeatts Wins Second Okeechobee Stop

Steven Yeatts of Palm Springs, FL won the Florida South division Ram Truck Open Series event at Lake Okeechobee on April 2, 2016. Yeatts weighed in a 26.39 pound limit to win $5000. “We went down to North Shore this morning and I caught one six pounder down there. I made the decision to check the outside grass line and it wasn’t bad, so I started pitching a jig. I had a three pounder come off, so I knew they were there. Then, I just kept working my way down and the fish just got bigger and bigger. Most of the fish were around pencil reeds.

Jessie J. Mizell of Sarasota, FL finished in second place with 24.58 winning $1302. “I started out this morning with a popping frog and, as soon as I got in the pads, I caught a six pounder right away. I began targeting the pockets in the pads and started getting some good bites. I threw a Devil’s Horse some and lost a good one, probably 8-9 pounds. After that, I just kept fishing those little pockets and culled up to what I weighed in,” said Mizell.

Doug Conklin of Harmony, FL finished in third place with a total of 22.88 pounds that included the 8.36 pound boater Big Bass to win a total of $1438. “I caught the Big Bass swimming a magnum speed worm, fishing open water in about a foot and a half of water. The rest of my fish came on a standard speed worm, fishing the edge of the grass,” said Conklin.

Top Five Boaters:

1. Steven Yeatts  26.39  $5000

2. Jessie Mizell  24.58  $1302

3. Doug Conklin(Big Bass)  22.88  $1438

4. Gary Millicevic  19.43  $607

5. Norman Pellegrini  18.37  $521

There were 58 boaters registered for this Ram Truck Open Series event.

Bob Lauffer of Clermont, FL was the co-angler champion of the Ram Truck Open Series event held on April 2, 2016 at the Lake Okeechobee. Lauffer weighed in 14.29 pounds to win $1900. “I used a big speed worm the whole time. We were on the North Shore up in the pads,” said Lauffer.

Nik C. Kayler of Apopka, FL finished in second place on the co-angler side with 14.06 pounds to win $617. “I never lost a fish today and everything came on a Chatterbait. We were around some lily pads outside of Harney Pond,” said Kayler.

Ryan L. Eckman Okeechobee FL brought in 12.23 pounds to finish in third place and he had the 7.51 pound co-angler Big Bass to win a total of $687. “My last two tournaments, my boater has looked at me and told me that we had about five minutes left to go and I’ve caught my biggest fish in the last five minutes. I was just keeping faith and keeping on casting. It was a blast. I had a great day on the water,” said Eckman.

Edward M. Wertepny Sr. of Tampa FL tied with Eckman for third place with the same 12.23 pound weight to win $288.

Top Five Co-anglers:

1. Bob Lauffer  14.29  $1900

2. Nik Kayler  14.06  $617

3. Ryan Eckman(Big Bass)  12.23  $687

3. Edward Wertepny(Tie)  12.23  $288

5. Luke Campbell  11.24  $247

There were 55 co-angler entries for this Ram Truck Open Series event.

Complete results can be found at this link

For more info on the Florida South division of the Ram Truck Open Series visit www.ramopenseries.com call ABA tournament manager, Billy Benedetti, at (256) 230-5632. The next Florida South event is on May 21, 2016 at Lake Okeechobee.

Ram Truck Open Series anglers can take advantage of the “no boat on boat draw” format along with huge payouts for the 2016 season. First place boaters can win a guaranteed $5000 first place, regardless of number of entries. Payouts will increase to $6000 for the first place boater with a 100 boat field. Over the course of four divisional events and the area championship, anglers will be competing for a spot in the 2017 Ray Scott Championship.

Lots of contingency money is up for grabs during the 2016 Ram Trucks Open Series Series season. Anglers participating in the Triton Gold program can earn up to $7,000 at 2016 divisional events and up to $50,000 at the 2017 Ray Scott Championship. Anglers can also take advantage of other programs such as T-H Marine Atlas Rewards, Power Pole Captain's Cash, Garmin Grand Giveaway, Livingston Lures Cash for Big Bass, Abu Garcia Revo Big Bass Bonus, Maui Jim Bonus, and Mercury/Motorguide bonus money.

American Bass Anglers, Inc. is supported by Ram Trucks, Triton Boats, Mercury Outboards, Carlisle Tires, GEICO, Berkley, Abu Garcia, T-H Marine, Hydrowave, Livingston Lures, Best Western Hotels, Maui Jim, Power Pole, Dr. Dan's, Garmin, and Simms Bass.  American Bass Anglers, Inc. can be contacted at (256) 232-0406 or by visiting americanbassanglers.com. 



ABA - (256)232-0406
Upcoming 2018 Early Schedules
Registration Now Open - Select Your Tournament
$5,000 First Place!

Registration  Link Division Dates: Lake/Info
Florida South 1/13/2018 Okeechobee
Florida Central 1/20/2018 Toho
South Carolina 1/27/2018 Keowee
Alabama South 2/03/2018 Eufaula
East Texas 2/03/2018 Cedar Creek
Alabama North 2/03/2018 Guntersville
North Carolina 2/10/2018 Norman
Georgia 2/10/2018 Eufaula
South Carolina 2/17/2018 Murray
Florida South 2/17/2018 Okeechobee
Virginia 2/24/2018 Kerr
Florida Central 2/24/2018 Kissimmee Chain
South East Texas 2/24/2018 Sam Rayburn
Tennesee Central 2/24/2018 Center Hill
Mississippi 3/03/2018 Columbus Pool
Georgia 3/10/2018 Seminole
Oklahoma 3/10/2018 Arkansas River
Kentucky 3/10/2018 Kentucky Lake
Florida Central 3/17/2018 Harris Chain
South Texas 3/17/2018 Lake Conroe
Alabama North 3/17/2018 Wheeler
North Carolina 3/24/2018 Hickory
Florida South 3/24/2018 Okeechobee
East Texas 3/24/2018 Lake Palestine
Tennesee Central 3/24/2018 Percy Priest
Maryland 3/31/2018 Potomac




Membership Special

Get all ABA Member Benefits Plus an 
ABA Tournament Jersey! Only $99.95

Check out the Lastest T-H Marine


Check Out Garmin's Panoptix!
Live is Better

More News

South Carolina Opens On Lake Keowee
Fitzgerald Wins Florida South Season Opener on Lake Okeechobee
Atlas Awards
Florida Central Opens at Lake Toho
Florida South Season Opener On Lake Okeechobee
Prowant Wins $10,000 in Area 5 Championship on Lake Okeechobee
Okeechobee Anglers Get Early Christmas Wish
Florida Central and Florida South Head to Lake Okeechobee for Area 5 Championship 
Smallmouth Bite at Texoma Seals a Victory
2018 Series Early Registration October 20th
Jerry Kotal wins $18,500.00 in Area 4 Championship on Lake Hartwell
Taylor Odom Lands a Monster to Seal Victory
2018 Open Series Schedules
Steven Marshall Wins Ram Truck Entry Fee Sponsorship
LeBrun Takes Win on Toledo Bend
North Carolina and South Carolina Head to Lake Hartwell for Area 4 Championship
Ingram Wins $10,000 in Area 3 Championship on Lake Eufaul
John Simonof Joins SiriusXM Marine Weather Pro Staff Team
Russell Lee Takes the win on Cedar Creek
David Hendrick Wins Ram Truck Entry Fee Sponsorship
Michael Nutter wins Area 8 Championship on the Potomac
Eric Silverstrim wins Area 1 Championship on Chickamauga
Georgia and Alabama South head to Lake Eufaula for Area 3 Championship
Tripoli wins on Area Championship on  Lake Erie
Tennessee Central and Alabama North head to Lake Chickamauga for Area 1 Championship
Maryland and Virginia Head to the Potomac River for two-day Championship
Ram Truck Owners - Win one of 4 Tour Sponsorships
Ram Open Series NE Heads to Lake Erie for 2 Day Championship
TX SE Reschedule
Drew Boggs Takes the win on Kentucky Lake
Thompson wins on Lake Champlain
The Ram Open Series NE heads to  Lake Champlain Ticonderoga
Harmon Davis Wins on Grand
Kentucky Division Heads to Kentucky Lake
Manson wins on 1000 Islands
Gallagher Wins on Indian Lake
Ohio Division Heads To Indian Lake
Seeger wins $5000 On The Ohio River
The Ram Open Series NE Heads to 1000 Islands
Tripoli wins on Cayuga Lake